tayaemerald.blogg.se

Growing up poor in america documentary
Growing up poor in america documentary







"Growing Up Poor In America" premiered Tuesday, Sept. “I actually am worried about the future… I just want us to be all right.” Poignant and unforgettable, "Growing Up Poor In America" is a window into the unique realities of child poverty in the U.S. “I think it does make it harder to get out of poverty,” Kyah says of racism towards Black people. Some of them participate in protests calling for an end to racial injustice. “She helps people that needs help,” Laikyen says.Īs the pandemic continues and the country also reckons with issues of race and racism in the wake of George Floyd’s death, the children share their worries and hopes about their futures. She is thankful for the food pantry down the street, where in addition to helping keep her family from going hungry, her beloved “Miss Candy” helps her with her homework. My grades - right now, my schoolwork is not very well,” Laikyen says.

growing up poor in america documentary

“We don’t have school because of the coronavirus. The documentary shows how that struggle is magnified when her school district goes remote. Schoolwork has long been a struggle for Laikyen, who has ADHD. Fantasy makes just over Ohio’s minimum wage: “In my opinion my mom doesn't get paid as much as she should, because my mom works hard and she deserves a little bit more,” Laikyen says. Twelve-year-old Laikyen, whose mother, Fantasy, works at a gas station to provide for Laikyen and her older sister, also feels her mom’s pain. “ I try not to show my feelings because I know it will be overwhelming and it makes things worse.” “What makes me the saddest about all this is seeing my mom like this,” Kyah says. As an escape, Kyah watches video tours of houses online, imagining that her family will one day have a home of their own. Now, rather than entering the shelter system, they’re experiencing “hidden homelessness”-with all three of them temporarily living in a single room at a relative’s house as Becky looks for work and a home they can afford within Kyah’s school district. And the family lost many of their cherished possessions when they could no longer make payments to the storage company holding their belongings: “I lost important things like pictures that I can't get again,” Kyah says. Becky was supposed to start a new job in March, but it fell through due to the pandemic. She, her mother, Becky, and her older sister, Kelia, became homeless when Becky became unable to pay their rent. It’s a dilemma that’s familiar to 14-year-old Kyah. He feels the need to protect his mother from his fears about the family’s struggle: “If I feel sad or something, and I expressed to my mom, that would make her feel sad, and so I just keep it to myself.” “My mom stretches the money that she gets to last out the whole month, but some things I can’t get that I want,” Shawn says.Īt the trailer where they are living through government assistance, Shawn helps to care for his toddler sister, striving to be a positive role model for her: “I mean, it’s a lot of pressure on me, but I try to do my best,” he says. Including food stamps, Crystal takes home the equivalent of $885 each month, an amount that leaves them unable to fix their car when it breaks down. In a journey that is both.Thirteen-year-old Shawn fears that his mom, Crystal, who keeps working at the local Salvation Army food pantry throughout the pandemic, will catch the virus.

Growing up poor in america documentary series#

| | Religion, VideosIn the first pioneer of British television, this series of three lists presented by Rageh Omaar the life of Muhammad, a man who – for the million and a half Muslims around the world – is the last messenger and prophet of God.

growing up poor in america documentary

Plastic garbage, death of the coral reefs, and more. While the country and its citizens earn money from tourism, the country suffers. | | Travel, VideosThailand is one of the more popular countries for tourists. Thailand and the fallout from mass tourismīy Riyan H. NOVA follows a scientific investigation of high altitude physiology in Everest: The Death Zone, which examines the biological and. | | Nature, Videos“Because it’s there” is the reason why many men and women who risked death to climb Mount Everest, the highest mountain in the world.

growing up poor in america documentary

The prevailing theory is that nothing with mass can travel. But there are ways that man can travel faster than the speed of light. That happens only comic books and on television. | | Science, VideosNo, we cannot get struck by lighting and become the Flash. 3 Ways Man Could Travel Faster Than Lightīy Riyan H. In early 2020, it was estimated that almost 12 million children in. | | Social, VideosThe documentary, “Growing Up Poor in America”, follows three children and their families in the battleground state of Ohio as the COVID-19 pandemic amplifies their struggle to stay afloat.







Growing up poor in america documentary